

## **FY2020 ANNUAL REPORT**

July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

Okemo Valley TV is an independent, nonprofit community access television station, which is formerly known as "PEG Access" (Public, Educational, & Government). While officially designated to serve the Towns of Ludlow, Plymouth, Cavendish, Mount Holly, Andover, and Reading, we have increasingly been broadening our mission to include the larger surrounding region. We are one of 25 PEG Access / community TV organizations operating in Vermont.

One of our core activities is the operation of two cable TV channels. One is a Public / Community access channel (Comcast ch. 1076 & VTel ch. 166) and an Educational / Government access channel (Comcast ch. 1086 & VTel ch. 167). In the Spring of 2020, Comcast moved our channels to the new locations at 1076 & 1086; the old channels were de-activated and are no longer in service. Our TV channels and website (okemovalley.tv), feature local programming and community announcements. The vast majority of the content is presented by community members, local organizations, schools, and Town governments.

During FY20, we presented 1,240 new, unique programs, which accounted for a combined total of 1,063 hours. Of those, 521 were locally-produced, amounting to 382 program hours. We created 157 community announcements for 51 different organizations, which played on the TV bulletin board, in between programming, & were published on our website. One of the key services that we provide is our "gavel-to-gavel" coverage of local government meetings. In total, during FY20, we recorded and televised 160 local government meetings (including municipal and school board meetings). When the Governor's executive order and statewide shutdown went into effect in March, we responded by offering to support the Towns and schools in our service area with video conferencing for remote meetings and events. We have been offering this service ever since, and have expanded it to other groups, such as non profit organizations and artists (for virtual concerts and other performances). First and foremost, we are here to help community members stay connected and to connect with one another through media. The tools might change but our mission stays the same.

At the end of each fiscal year, during our annual meeting, we present awards to community members who made an impact through the use of our services. These were Susan Haefner ("Outstanding Achievement"), Pat Moore ("Producer of the Year"), the Mt. Holly After School Program ("Youth Producer"), and Kata Welch ("Community Service"). We added one other special award this year, the "Volunteer Impact Award", in recognition of volunteer service in response to the ongoing pandemic. That went to Dr. Linda Thomson. In addition to producing and distributing community programming, we also provide community members with access to media production equipment and our facility, for the purposes of creating programming. We offer this, including hands-on trainings and workshops free of charge, although the during the COVID-19 pandemic, this part of our business was been on hold. In December 2019, we were involved with our largest community project yet, in terms of number of participants, with the reading of the U.S. Constitution in our studio. The resulting program can be viewed on our website and You Tube channel, and has also been periodically televised on our community access channel in recent months.

Our annual revenue in FY20 was \$207,546, up 7% from the previous year. The increase was attributed to receiving settlement funds from a court settlement involving Comcast. By far, the largest portion of our funding comes from cable TV subscriber revenue, paid to us as "franchise fees" from the cable providers (Comcast & VTel), and regulated through the State of Vermont. This amounted to 92% of our total revenue; the remainder was raised through a combination of sources, including Town appropriations, member contributions, grants, and fee-for-service production services.

## **Board of Directors:**

Noah Schmidt, President

Don Richardson, V.P.

George Thomson, Secretary

John Cama, Treasurer

Will Harris

**Sharon Huntley** 

Pat Moore

Patrick Cody Executive Director